When people first realize there are eight different levels of resistance with bulletproof glass, their initial instinct is to assume those levels coincide with product quality. That line of thinking makes sense, after all we’re constantly presented with options in life like choosing between store brands vs. national brands, or different gasoline grades. The same thing should apply with bulletproof glass too, right? Wrong.

Actually, the eight levels of resistance for bulletproof glass are designated by the UL (Underwriter’s Laboratory) to determine the type of protection each level offers. They conduct extensive tests on bullet resistant glass, which determines what kinds of firearms each can withstand.

The most basic protection comes with levels one and two where you’re protecting yourself from small caliber handguns all the way up to level eight glass that protects against assault weapons. That’s why assuming a level four pane of glass is “middle of the road” and a cost-effective option for protection is not accurate. In fact, a majority of our installations fall within levels one through three.

TSS Infographic 8 levelsIt’s important to us that everyone knows what to expect when researching for the right bulletproof glass to use in their buildings. There are many factors that determine the level of protection that is needed such as: type of business, location, perceived threat level, foot traffic levels, etc. Once the glass you need is determined, then you need to factor in support and installation. If you need a higher protection level, you need to understand that that means your bulletproof glass will be thicker and heavier, meaning you have to accommodate how the foundation and framing will support the glass when installed.

We know there’s a lot to think about when it comes to deciding on a custom bullet resistant barrier for your safety and security needs. That’s why we’ve created a comprehensive directory of resources for you to download. Those resources now include our newest infographic: The 8 Levels of Bullet Resistance. This infographic provides detailed information about the different available bulletproof glass resistance levels, benefiting seasoned professionals and first time buyers alike.

Aside from learning about the individual levels, you’ll also get information about:

  • What bulletproof glass resistance level we recommend based on the type of building being secured
  • The different kinds of bulletproof glass
  • The typical weight and thickness for each level of glass
  • General recommendations and tips that will help you plan your project

If you still have questions after reading our infographic, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Next Steps:

Eight Levels bullet resistance

Back to Blog